Anybody ever considered "airless" sprayers?

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by soooulpower, Sep 20, 2010.

1. soooulpower

soooulpower Semi-Informed Tinkerer

Vehicle:
    2 1974 four door Mavericks, one Black, one pastel lime
    I've been thinking of how to do a decent cheap paint job not only to make my mav look better, but to protect it, While thinking it occurred to me that maybe instead of springing for the pricier compressor I need to use my fathers air gun I could just snag a wagner house sprayer gun and shoot it that way. Even if it can't handle automotive paint I can just go the rustoleum $50 layer and buff route, right?

2. maverickdragger

maverickdragger GearHead

Vehicle:
    1973 Maverick
    it works and can look good. but the quality and life of it is not worth it. im a professional auto painter. i suggest going for broke and doing it right. shop line sells decent paint for cheap. its made by ppg. and the duplicolor you can buy in a parts store is great as well

3. simple man

simple man Member

Vehicle:
    74 Maverick - 82 Ford Ranger,one of the first ones made!
    Airless sprayers are dangerous to use with flammable paints and primers. I would definitely not try this! If you do a lot of the prep work yourself,Maaco does a pretty decent paint job. My friend had his 86 Mustang done there for $200,and it looks great!:)

4. soooulpower

Vehicle:
    Good point on the safety angle. After a little digging it seems a decent air compressor is pretty much exactly the same price as an airless, so with all the air tools I have already bought in anticipation. I'm sticking with plan A. (Going in for the compressor and using real automotive paint is plan A btw.) Thanks everyone!

5. justin has a 74

justin has a 74 Maverick bandit official

Vehicle:
    74 maverick /71 grabber /72 maverick
    That things a POS IMO!!!

(the ones from harbor freight that are like 40 bucks)

6. bmcdaniel

bmcdaniel Senile Member

Vehicle:
    '70 Maverick Grabber