cost of paint job

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by duster70, May 3, 2006.

1. duster70

duster70 Member

Vehicle:
    1970 Maverick I-6 automatic
    just wondering what the cheapest price on a black paint job is?

2. luckyirishpride

luckyirishpride "Youngest Comet Owner"16!

Vehicle:
    2x 1971 Mercury Comets Both V8s, P/S/, A/C
    I got quoted 1500.... Not sure if that is good or bad. Anybody got an opinion on this price?

3. rayzorsharp

rayzorsharp I "AM" a Maverick!

Vehicle:
    Three 71 Maverick Grabbers, a 72 302 Sprint, a 73 LDO 2door parts car, a 76 silver v8 Stallion.
    Well, I've never used Krylon on my cars before but if you can get by with ten cans, I would say about $20.
    Seriously, there is no set price on a paint job, especially old cars, even moreso on a black one. You're not telling us how much preparation work it's going to take before your car can be painted. Are you going to just mask up the car and spray it? Are you going to remove all the bumpers, moldings and trim? Can't paint the car properly without it. Are you going to repair any dents/rust? Does the old paint need to be stripped? Usually so. Are you going to use single stage, base/clear paint? Are you going to change colors? Do you want it wetsanded and buffed to get a glass like finish? Are you going to paint the inside jambs?

Anyway, I hope this gives you a little bit of insight on pricing a paint job. I do run a body shop so I get asked this question quite often.
    A very similar question would be to ask a grocer, how much does a bag of groceries cost?
    Good luck with the car and be sure to post pics when you get er done.

Last edited: May 3, 2006
  4. luckyirishpride

luckyirishpride "Youngest Comet Owner"16!

Vehicle:
    2x 1971 Mercury Comets Both V8s, P/S/, A/C
    Well dang... THAT EXPLAINS WHY YOUR CAR IS SO DAMN BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!
    Thats not fair...

5. rayzorsharp

Vehicle: