Fusing of a Fender

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by Erick-Mav, Nov 23, 2004.

1. Erick-Mav

Erick-Mav Maverick Punk

Vehicle:
    71 Grabber-Factory V8 w/3spd, 72 Maverick-351 Procharged for Strip, 71 Comet GT-331/4spd
    How hard would it be to splice together 2 halves (front and back) of a front fender along a line intersecting the top of the wheel well? I have two left fenders and one has a great front half but has dings in the back, and the other has a great back but a crunched front. If it's not too hard I could cut them in half and MIG weld them together to make one good fender.

P.S. - I'm a pretty good welder with the flux wire feed, but have recently upgraded to a MIG and it seems alot easier to weld.

-Erick

2. Mavaholic

Mavaholic Growing older but not up!

Vehicle:
    Original 72 Sprint Owner, 71 Comet GT, 57 Ranchwagon, 57 4 dr Wagon
    A lot of work but certainly should be reasonably easy to do. I think the hardest part would be to get the cut line at the same exact location.

3. Earl Branham

Earl Branham Certified Old Fart

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    '69.5 Maverick 302, T-5, Grabber Green
    Easier to fix the dinged fender than to cut and splice. But, if that is not feasible, it is a measure, cut and weld...then a lot of body work. Good luck!

4. Sam M.

Sam M. Just a nobody

Vehicle:
    1972 Black Comet EFI 2-Door, 1975 Blue Maverick factory 302 4-Door
    Measure measure measure!!! Did I mention you need to measure? Should be fairly straightforward after that.

Sam :)

5. Dan Starnes

Dan Starnes Original owner

Vehicle:
    Stallion, 72 Grabber, Sprint, 77 4dr Maverick