Need a fix for ???

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by tomeriker, May 29, 2005.

1. tomeriker

tomeriker Member

Vehicle:
    1972 maverick project..
    Have been scratching my head on this one. I am a newbie to body work and am having difficulty figuring out how to fix a strange dent. It is in the drivers side front fender. right on top. I can push up and it pops right out but with very little effort on top it pops right back down. I have taken the fender loose and tried to realign, too no avail. could use kitty hair and fill it but am worried that it will just pop out after paint.. Anyone with any ideas?? :huh: driving me to:drink: and act like :bananaman thanks guys

2. Mavaholic

Mavaholic Growing older but not up!

Vehicle:
    Original 72 Sprint Owner, 71 Comet GT, 57 Ranchwagon, 57 4 dr Wagon
    The metal has been stretched. Thats why it pops back in so easily. You need to fix the dent and stay away from fillers as much as possible. There are many good "how to" books in the library and online. Or you could try working part time at a body shop or take a course. Basically you have to undent it starting from the outside of the dent and working in. Hammers, dollies and a good shrinking hammer are a must and not that expensive.

3. Jean Doll

Jean Doll Maverick Restoration Tech

Vehicle:
    1977 Maverick 2 door with a 302.