Paint; Colors and how to go about it.

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by Wa. MavMan, Nov 4, 2004.

1. Wa. MavMan

Wa. MavMan Member

So this weekend I'll finally be bringing my 71' Maverick home. Hopefully in the near future I'll be able to get it repainted. It is originally blue (I'm not sure what color blue it would be, I'm new to the Maverick world).

How much does repainting cost usually?
    What color would best suit my Maverick? I would like to keep it some shade of blue.
    Should I stripe it or not?
    If so, what color? White? Black?

That's all I've got for right now, any information is greatly appreciated guys!

2. Dan Starnes

Dan Starnes Original owner

Vehicle:
    Stallion, 72 Grabber, Sprint, 77 4dr Maverick
    Paintjobs can usually be done for anywhere from $1000.00 and up. Mostly waaaay up. Expect to shell out at least $3000.00 for the usual worn car. Blue is nice, and I think all the factory blues fit the cars very very well. Stripes depend on which color blue you choose. Stripes can accent on a subtle basis, or go LOUD with very contrasting color to announce your statement.
    Dan

3. Maverick73

Maverick73 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    '73 Maverick 2 Dr, '73 Maverick LDO 4 Dr, '73 Maverick 4 Dr Parts Car
    IMO, Keep the car the factory original color. And like Dan said depending on the blue, If it's a light blue go with black stripe if it's a dark blue go with the white.

4. Jean Doll

Jean Doll Maverick Restoration Tech

Vehicle:
    1977 Maverick 2 door with a 302.