Porting Gt40p Heads Pics inside

Discussion in 'Technical' started by Jap901, Apr 8, 2005.

1. Jap901

Jap901 Member

Vehicle:
    71 mav 2 door
    Hello all, this is my very first time trying to port and polish any type of head so I am willing to take any tips i can get.
    I have done 2 exh ports and bowls so fare, so take a look and see if this looks to be good enought for a begginer. I also didn't grind the Thermactor bump out i more less just tryed to flow it in and smooth it sence i read there is a water jacket in there and I though It be better not to grind on it much, so I wantn't scape my heads. The Pics look better than they do in person but I have never seen a ported head in person so I am not sure how good there post to be. I know I having a hard time trying to get ever spot cleaned and smooth.
    Thanks for any pointers.

2. lbr

lbr Member

Vehicle:
    11 second '72 Comet, 302, 4 spd
    Looks Good! I thought the Thermactor bumps were solid, they were on my heads. Factory drills through them to inject air into the exhaust without hitting water. Anyway I'd recommend staying conservative and just blend and port match.
    lbr

Last edited: Apr 9, 2005
  3. Jason M

Jason M Hibernatin for the Winter

Vehicle:
    1976 Ford Maverick
    looks good...... just wondering if anyone has found a set of hedders that fit our maverick with the gt40p heads

4. Jap901

Jap901 Member

Vehicle:
    71 mav 2 door
    Hello My dad made me a metal template same size as gaskit with a long screw in the middle today and i ported out a little more on the exh runners the same size as the template all the way to the Thermactor bump and took out a little more on the Thermactor bump and gave them a realy good polish job today.

Thats A lot of work I hope they flow good I like to have them flow bench to get flow data from them. What kind of campany would you find to flow bench heads?