Possibly a great patching product

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by Wes, Oct 28, 2005.

1. Wes

Wes Maverick Police Dept.

Vehicle:
    '76 Maverick Stallion '76 Maverick Metro Police K-9
    I have a subscription to a mag called "Auto Restorer". It has great articles on restoring and repairing vehicles and the best thing is that the articles are written by those that accually do that. As we don't always get a car that doesn't need any work, this info can be very valueable. The hints and tips there can be very helpful and save you $$ in some cases. I think this product may be just one of those good finds. This is from the November '05 edition.

A professional restorer named Larry Lyles wrote a review of a product for patching all kinds of metal items called "Lab-Metal Repair Compound". This product is pre-mixed and has a strong aluminum content. It goes on like Bondo, but without having to mix anything with it like hardener. It can be filed and sanded easily and is supposed to be much stronger because of it's high metal content and cures without shrinking like putty does. This could be a great substitute to having to weld trim holes, etc. It's heat resistant to 425 degrees F and they make another compound of the same product that withstands 1000 F. He used it himself to patch a pot metal rear fender extention and the pictured results are impressive. He also made a piece of metal out of the compound, drilled it and tapped it to accept a bolt. It worked. This product can be used to repair and replace items that need to accept a fastener.

It comes in various size cans or a calking tube. The 24oz. can sells for $29.95 and the 48 oz. for $49.40 off the company's web site. The product is available in a lot of places and locations can be gotten through their site also. If there's a Fastenal branch near you, they all carry it.

The product is made by...
    Alvin Products
    350 Merrimac Street
    Lawrence, Ma. 01843
    978-975-4580

www.AlvinProducts.com