Welding. Flux core and argon

Discussion in 'Cosmetic' started by stockhatch, Nov 13, 2004.

1. stockhatch

stockhatch Re Member

Vehicle:
    '72 Grabber
    Ok, so I have limited welding experience. I welded some when I built a turbo kit for my Mustang, but it was all pretty thick pipe. I welded the pipe fine using flux core, but when I tried to fill some holes in the engine compartment sheet metal, it was trying to blow through it even with the voltage all the way down. I was wondering if thin sheet metal is any easier to weld with thiner wire and argon. The mig is a Millermatic(not sure what series) set up for gas, and the inside of the door says you can weld 18ga steel with it.

Thanks,

AC

2. Mavaholic

Mavaholic Growing older but not up!

Vehicle:
    Original 72 Sprint Owner, 71 Comet GT, 57 Ranchwagon, 57 4 dr Wagon
    Most sheet metal used in body panels is 18 and 20 Gauge. Gas welding does work better on thinner metal. Its a mix of 75% argon and 25% Co2. Even with gas, it takes some practice to weld the thinner metals.

3. stockhatch

stockhatch Re Member

Vehicle:
    '72 Grabber
    Well thats good to hear. I hope that those quarter panel replacements arent any thinnner than 18ga, as I plan on welding them in myself. Im practicing on the underhood hole filling and non-critcal stuff, and I plan to cut up an old hood and practice butt welding with the pieces. Thanks for the info.

AC

4. FoMoDave

FoMoDave Maverick Owner

Vehicle:
    1973 Maverick 302 c-4,1971 Maverick 6cyl
    I am no welder either but dont you need to have a peice of copper behind the hole to use a mig. Just wondering.

5. stockhatch

stockhatch Re Member

Vehicle:
    '72 Grabber
    Im not sure. I was just doing it the way Ive watched my dad do it in the past. He fills holes with no backing most of the time. If its larger than say, 1/4" he sticks a stick welding rod in there to fill in some of the gap... Maybe it would make it easier if I tried with a backing.

AC

6. dmhines