what trans are you using and why?

Discussion in 'Drag Racing' started by junrai, Apr 30, 2013.

1. junrai

junrai Member

Vehicle:
    1972 mercury comet 1972 comet gt
    Im going to have to either replace or rebuild/ beef up my trans here in the near future to accommodate the new found HP my new motor is going to have (somewhere in the neighborhood of 1000hp) so Im starting to think about what s the best option. and olrodder I would strongly consider your trans shop since your trans has lasted so long

currently I have a c4 thats been rebuilt and has a 2500 stall converter in it. it was built with 500HP in mind.

I built the trans mission first I know its the wrong order but I never intended to go more than that. the fact that it wouldnt go into gear made it so it had to be done first.

I would really like not to have to modify my trans tunnel as Im no expert in the fabricating section. I could come up with something cheesy and bolt it down but I want everything to be NICE when its all done. (the idea is a very aggressive but comfortable street style car not a fully stripped strictly race built drag car) I want the best of both worlds race and comfort on the street

Ive watched just about every episode of pinks and pass time and see alot of guys that have a reversed valve body in their trans where it shifts backwards and Im wondering whats the benefit to that if any? ( I think it would screw me up :huh:)

so please all of you guys that race on any level chime in on this and let me know what you have and why you went with what you have.
    Im considering a c6 option rather than a c4 oh and I want to stay with an automatic.

2. Mavman72

Mavman72 Gone backwards but lookin' forward

Vehicle:
    1972 Maverick 2 door.Original V-8 3 spd std shift.Also a 72 one owner Sprint sporting a 351 Windsor