Crazy idea

Discussion in 'General Maverick/Comet' started by DonMegel, Oct 1, 2007.

1. DonMegel

DonMegel New Member

Ok, I have a feeling this is prolly insain, but, some mechanic friend's of my father sugested I get a junked out early 90s mustang and take its V8, transmistion, rear axle, air conditioning, power steering and power breaks and put them all on my Maverick. I am not doing a classic restoration, I want to modernize several elements of my Mav but find such a solution far fetched. Can I really do this? is it a good idea? Is there a better idea?

Like I said in my other thread, Im new to this and all the help has been invaluble.

2. Dave B

Dave B I like Mavericks!

Vehicle:
    3 Grabbers
    Anything can be done with Mavericks!! Have a look around at some of the cars in the gallery. Swapping a 90's Mustang engine and transmission is easy, the rest will be a bit of work.

3. Mavaholic

Mavaholic Growing older but not up!

Vehicle:
    Original 72 Sprint Owner, 71 Comet GT, 57 Ranchwagon, 57 4 dr Wagon
    IF you have the talent or at least the desire to learn, it can be done. It would also, in my opinion, be a pretty cool thing to do. I am doing that with my 57 Ranchwagon and a 93 Lincoln Towncar. The whole drive train, interior and accessorys will be incorporated in to my 57.

4. don graham

don graham MCG State Rep

Vehicle:
    70 mav, 71 grabber, 73 Comet, 2004 f-250 crew cab diesel, 2001 f-250, 2004 explorer, 2007 Gold Wing trike.
    go for it. if it dosen't work. then you can always do something else. :)

5. PAINTANK

PAINTANK Cometosis Obsessivus

Vehicle:
    1973 Comet 2 dr
    Do it.

6. Shinysideup

Shinysideup Chillin the most

Vehicle:
    car
    I have the roller 302, 5 speed and the driveshaft in mine from a '93. I did some fitment for the evaporator box under the dash and am confident i can get the stangs a/c system fitted with little mods at all.

7. Jamie Miles

Jamie Miles the road warrior

Vehicle:
    13 Mavericks