Matco truck - did I over react?

Discussion in 'Tool & Shop Talk' started by Slayer, Apr 26, 2017.

1. Slayer

Slayer Member

Vehicle:
    72 maverick
    Sup guys.
    I had a little issue the other day with my matco tools sales guy. I had issues before this but never as bad as this..... I'd like opinions on if I over reacted.

I'm a diesel mechanic for dolese here in okc.
    Everything we work on here is big....
    The first time I had issues with this gentleman - I was in search of a pneumatic cutting wheel. He had one on the truck ( off brand ) silver eagle.... It was small and 110$. ( I had one in my box that I had paid 30$ for from harbor freight. (Nothing wrong with it - I just wanted a back up).... He assured me that the silver eagle was plenty powerful enough to do what ever I needed.... So I picked it up...
    A weak or so went by before I made an attempt to use the tool.... For our trucks we have 1/4 thick mud flaps. Drivers are always backing over them and ripping them off. So i notch the bolt holes out.... That way they don't tear up the cat walk or fender when it happens - they just pull out.... I tried to use the tool to cut out the notch's and the struggled badly with the task. To the point I had to get my harbor freight one out to finish the job....
    I figured the tool was defective.
    The next week when the tool guy came around I informed him of the issues....
    You could tell he was in defense mode. But I wasn't blaming him until he became insulting over the matter. ( I was gonna ask to credit to the truck and get a more expensive two or $300 version. ) Until he started blaming me and insulting me. He finally got under my skin and I told him - the tools on this truck that cost triple the money are getting out done by harbor frieghts cheap stuff. The harbor freight offers a better warranty.
    Yep.... That did it. He told me if that how I feel go to harbor freight - I simply replied - will do........