C4 questions

Discussion in 'Technical' started by facelessnumber, Nov 13, 2007.

1. facelessnumber

facelessnumber Drew Pittman

Vehicle:
    '71 Grabber
    I'm new to this whole vacuum modulator concept, but I assume it functions something like the throttle valve cable setup in a GM 700R4. Mine also has a rod on the throttle linkage, which I'm going to assume works like the detent cable in a TH350. Am I close?

Okay, so here's what's going on. Got a 302 with a C4, and I think my rearend is geared pretty high. 3.0:1 maybe? I can cruise at 70+, and I can cruise at 50-, but at 60 it wants to downshift with just a little bit of throttle. Feels like it's too easy to kick it down. I don't think it's slipping... So should I adjust that kickdown rod? It would appear that the rod doesn't engage until well over 3/4 throttle, so unless it moves while I'm driving, I don't think that's it. How about the modulator?

Is this stuff common to a C4 and just a matter of adjustment, or is this a sign of impending trouble?

Thanks for your thoughts...

2. rayzorsharp

rayzorsharp I "AM" a Maverick!

Vehicle:
    Three 71 Maverick Grabbers, a 72 302 Sprint, a 73 LDO 2door parts car, a 76 silver v8 Stallion.
  3. mavman

mavman Member

Vehicle:
    '75 Maverick, '03 super duty, '04 Mustang Vee-six!
    Well it depends.

The modulator works off of vacuum. The more you open the throttle, the less vacuum you have. So if you have a vacuum leak, low vacuum due to a lot of overlap, etc, then yes, it will kick down early. I would disconnect the hose that goes to it and look for signs of trans fluid. If there's any in there, time to replace the modulator. If no fluid, disconnect the kickdown rod from the linkage and go for a test drive. If it solves the problem, you need to adjust the kickdown linkage. If not, you can adjust the modulator with a screwdriver. Chances are good that it's most likely in the kickdown linkage though.