1976 Maverick 2.3 swap

Discussion in 'Maverick/Comet Projects' started by carnageX12, Mar 16, 2012.

1. carnageX12

carnageX12 Member

Vehicle:
    1976 Maverick
    So after getting my carb rebuilt, replacing the gas tank, and doing a tune up, I wasn't satisfied with the performance or mpg of the 250. I did notice that the carb leaked erratically, but didn't really feel like playing with it anymore. I'm new to learning about cars and from what I read the carb didn't sound like it was for me. I thought about doing a throttle body injector swap but most kits cost about $1100 and wasn't sure if that was going to improve the mpg. I started thinking about putting in a more modern engine, maybe a v6, but wasn't sure where to begin. Then I came across the article on modified mustangs that talked about the 2.3l turbo swap that maverick88tc did, and it seemed like a good swap to do. I was going to just get the engine but managed to find an 88 turbo coupe engine and transmission with driveshaft and wiring harness with computer fairly close by, and since I did miss driving a manual car, decided to get it. I cleaned up the engine and then yesterday pulled out the old engine and transmission. I'm hoping next week to clean and prime the engine bay and replace gaskets and paint new engine, maybe do a test fit first. I still need to track down a correct oil pan, replace the , I also need to find a good brand for the clutch pedal. Also anyone know if possible to adapt the gauge cluster out of an 88 turbo coupe and get it to work, I saw one on ebay but the socket didn't match any plug I had so guessing there is another group of wires.
    2012-03-03_14.57.36.jpg 2012-03-16_08.47.52.jpg 2012-03-16_08.50.04.jpg

2. bartikus

bartikus Member

Vehicle:
    1973 comet, 1977 4 door mav(dead), 1964 falcon 4 door wagon, 1936 studebaker dictator
    that will be sweet when your done. i've toyed with doing the same swap on my dailey to get better gas milage. keep us informed.

3. Fordcustom