Cam recommendations

Discussion in 'General Maverick/Comet' started by rag9836, Jun 17, 2016.

1. rag9836

rag9836 1972 Comet, 67K

Vehicle:
    Comet
    Just finished the control valve and ram cylinder re-build and steering is much better...

I have a 600 CFM edelbrock carb and performer intake that I am going to install... I've never done an intake install before... But since I have it off, I am thinking of upgrading cam.

Looking for recommendations for one to be run on a stock 302, with only an upgraded carb and intake.

After this I'll do headers and exhaust and call it done.

Thanks for the advice.

2. groberts101

groberts101 Member

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    1971 Comet GT
    oh fun.. another cam rec thread. lol Just keep in mind that this kind of stuff can snowball out of your price range and skill level pretty quickly so let us know what those are right up front to help keep the rec's relevant to what you're after here. Otherwise before you know it we'll be telling you to dump the stock heads.. stroke the motor to a 347 and install some AFR 195's. ;)

I like this Comp Cams Extreme Energy cam because it has faster valve action and tighter 110° lobe separation angle with an added exhaust split(more duration/lift) to help these anemic factory exhaust ports. Smallest one they make(250° advertised duration) and the shorter duration is right in line with a milder, smaller CID, low compression motor. Don't underestimate this smaller cams ability though.. because it WILL make more power EVERYWHERE in the rev range and still extend your rpm potential for when you're feeling a bit rowdy with the gas pedal. BUT.. this cam.. as with any mild performance cam.. will tax the other parts more and can even push a nominally healthy motor over the edge to greater oil consumption and compression blowby.. so it pays to understand and plan accordingly.

http://www.compcams.com/Company/CC/cam-specs/Details.aspx?csid=875&sb=2