Engine & Trans Removal questions

Discussion in 'General Maverick/Comet' started by rag9836, Jul 1, 2019.

1. rag9836

rag9836 1972 Comet, 67K

Vehicle:
    Comet
    Hi guys,

I've been working on this car for the past ten years and I am still a novice at so much. Had it running well, then the the trans started leaking pretty bad. I've never pulled an engine and need to rebuild the trans and bottom end of the 302. The trans and bottom end have never been worked on or pulled before. That said, does the air conditioner condenser and wall highlighted below come out easily?

Would like to pull the engine and trans together if possible...but if these piece does not come out I think it may be easier to do the engine by itself at first.

Thoughts for a first time engine puller? Thanks

IMG_1426.jpg

2. 71gold

71gold Frank Cooper Supporting Member

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    '73 Grabber
    that piece isn't removable.after removing rad and condenser motor and trans will come out togrther.
    tape up the tailshaft on the trans to keep from making an oil slick.

3. jasonwthompson

jasonwthompson Member

Vehicle:
    72 Comet
    The core support you have circled is not a bolt on piece, but you can remove the engine and trans together. It may be helpful to have the front of the car on ramps so that the trans can angle downward without hitting the ground. You will probably want to use a load leveler with the hoist. It will allow you to angle the engine and trans as it is lifted out. Remove the radiator and trans lines. Remove the belly bar under the oil pan, and lower the steering by unbolting the idler arm from the frame. I am sure others who have done this more recently can give more helpful hints.
    [​IMG]

4. William623

William623 Member

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    1973 ford maverick grabber