Flo-tek heads yes or no

Discussion in 'Technical' started by pong, Nov 7, 2010.

1. pong

pong Member

Vehicle:
    1972 mercury comet gt
    I was looking in "Speedway motors" and came accross some flo tek heads. I like the price and I wanted some input on em.

2. brainsboy

brainsboy Member

Bottom end product in the same playing field as procomp stuff. From a performance stand point the ports are poorly designed as well as flow restrictions on the short side of radius due to humps, and sharp castings around the valve guide. I have no idea as the quality of parts used in the heads but would guess its also low end. For a few bucks more you can find a better head with better parts.

I'm not an expert when it comes to the metal make up of aluminum but I do remember that flo-tek and procomp actually use a different type of aluminum than compared to traditional performance heads on the market. Just thought it would be worth mentioning since it may or may not have different cooling effects and or strength properties.

Last edited: Nov 7, 2010
  3. pong

pong Member

Vehicle:
    1972 mercury comet gt
    Thanx for the input. Think I will stay clear of any s!@# like that. They claim to add 30 hp over any stock heads ford produced:rolleyes:

4. 69GT

69GT Member

Vehicle:
    72 Grabber Maverick.
    Only 30? Well, AFR 185s made a dyno proven 90 HP increase over stock on a 306 with a mild roller cam in a head comparison shootout a few years back. You fork out more money but if you're going to fork it out. Heads! That's where to fork it... :)

5. pong

pong Member

Vehicle:
    1972 mercury comet gt
    Any idea what the afr 165's would produce w/306 and xe274 cam and headers?

6. brainsboy

brainsboy Member