Non-mechanic needing mechanic tips.

Discussion in 'Technical' started by CincyMav74, Nov 21, 2019.

1. CincyMav74

CincyMav74 New Member

Vehicle:
    1974 Ford Maverick
    Hello everyone,
    I have a 74 Ford Maverick with the 3 speed automatic inline 6 cylinder and it’s been down for about 8 years. I got it as a birthday present when my mom bought her 76 maverick. It hadn’t ran in 20 years, we had the tank dropped sealed and everything running. Two years later the transmission starts having problems shifting and everyone told me I needed a rebuild or swap. I was in college at the time and couldn’t afford so I bought a car and let it sit. Now that I’m established a bit I want to get it back in running condition. I obviously have to get the old gas out,replace some rubber lines and oil, but I’m not a mechanic and don’t know what steps to take. I don’t like going to a shop for repairs because of bad experiences with having to pay for half effort work. Any videos or manuals you folks can recommend to get me started in a general direction. I’m sure I’m going to have to pay for any major work done due to lack of tools and experience, but just getting it running I’m sure I can handle. I appreciate any help. Thank

Attached Files:

2. mojo

mojo "Everett"- Senior Citizen Supporting Member

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    73 Comet GT-302 4bl
    YouTube may be your friend for some of the things in the realm of videos. 1st. priority, change brake fluid, new master brake cylinder, rear wheel cylinders and front calipers if so equipped. Also, inspect drums, shoes, rotors and if rear seals are leaking that will be evident when your in the rear drum inspection. If leaking grease, that will have to be fixed to keep from ruining brake shoes..

CA189HJN and CincyMav74 like this.
  3. BBMS18

BBMS18 Member

Vehicle:
    75 Comet
    Welcome to the forum, you came to the right place to ask questions about your Maverick.