Throttle cable 70 302 swap

Discussion in 'General Maverick/Comet' started by satchelmcqueen, Apr 30, 2019.

  1. satchelmcqueen

    satchelmcqueen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    rome georgia
    Vehicle:
    1970 Maverick
    Has anyone used the stock 200 throttle cable on a 302 swap? I havent messed with the new 4 barrel carb yet, but will go ahead and order the lokar cable if its a definite no go. Anyone wanna chime in to save me a little time and frustration? Ty

    Also if you have that lokar cable, please provide link or exact description of it so I can order the right one.
     
  2. YellowStangDuan

    YellowStangDuan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Arlington, Texas
    Vehicle:
    71 Grabber
    Mine’s a 71, it works but bends pretty sharp.
     
    satchelmcqueen likes this.
  3. Craig Selvey

    Craig Selvey Indiana State Rep - MCCI

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    856
    Trophy Points:
    753
    Location:
    Albany, Indiana
    Vehicle:
    1972 Maverick Grabber - Color: Orange Also, 1976 Ford Maverick 4-door, 1977 Mercury Comet 2-door. Daily driver: 2002 Ford Focus SE Station Wagon
    It will be way too long and you would have to loop it. Best to get a V-8 cable.
     
  4. William623

    William623 Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Garage:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    1973 ford maverick grabber
    It looks weird but it will work just fine. I have known several people who have done it.
     
  5. BBMS18

    BBMS18 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    155
    Trophy Points:
    95
    Location:
    Winter Wasteland
    Vehicle:
    75 Comet
    Over the years Ford used several different lengths of throttle cables depending on engine/model, in the past I’ve measured for the length I needed then searched the salvage yard for the closest cable to my measurement.
     
  6. rthomas771

    rthomas771 Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,798
    Likes Received:
    686
    Trophy Points:
    383
    Garage:
    1
    Location:
    GA
    Vehicle:
    '74 Maverick 250 5-Speed.'60 Falcon V8 Toploader 9". '66 Falcon Sports Coupe, '63 Falcon Sports Coupe
  7. William623

    William623 Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Garage:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    1973 ford maverick grabber
    my buddy bought this cable and even though the over all length is the same the throttle bracket to carb length is different. He was unable to use the stock bracket.
     
  8. bmcdaniel

    bmcdaniel Senile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    6,147
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    York. PA
    Vehicle:
    '70 Maverick Grabber
    I have the black universal Lokar cable but it's been too many years, I don't remember the part number. Just measure how long you need it to be and get one that's a little longer. You cut them to size.
     
    satchelmcqueen likes this.
  9. BKelley

    BKelley Comet Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Location:
    Stone Mountain, Ga
    Vehicle:
    "72" Comet GT
    I wonder why, it is an exact reproduction of the factory cable. Perhaps he was sent the wrong one?
     
  10. William623

    William623 Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Garage:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando
    Vehicle:
    1973 ford maverick grabber
    C1DE79B6-3F9A-4EE5-82F1-FC21FBB63140.jpeg
    I am not sure. The overall length of the cable was the same but not the segment lengths. Here is a photo he sent me awhile ago.
     

Share This Page