Weatherstrip installation

Discussion in 'General Maverick/Comet' started by William623, Nov 26, 2014.

1. William623

William623 Member

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    1973 ford maverick grabber
    I was looking around on the forum for a bit but I couldn't find much on weatherstrip installation. I just bought all new seals for my car and was looking for any advice/tips on the installation seeing as I have never done it before. I will be installing all seals personally except for the front and back glass, those I will have a professional put in. Any recommendations or guides will be a lot of help and what is a good adhesive to use? Thank you!

2. Crazy Larry

Crazy Larry Member

Vehicle:
    '73 Maverick 2-door, 302, manual trans
    Have fun. The installation is not terribly difficult, but the replacement weather stripping is extremely hard, so your doors won't want to close without slamming them. One tip I can offer that I wish I had know about sooner, is to drill or poke air relief holes in your trunk lid seal, using the original seal as a guide for where the holes should be.

3. William623

William623 Member

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    1973 ford maverick grabber
    Ok I'll make sure to do that! Also I know some of the seals are held on by retainers or clips, but which ones do you need to glue, if any?

4. Krazy Comet

Krazy Comet Tom

Garage:
    Vehicle:
    1972 Comet GT clone 306 . 1969 Fairlane Cobra 428CJ 1988 T-Bird awaiting 331 ..
    I may be opening a can of worms here but I believe most of the hard shutting door issue is because the door stripping are being installed on wrong door... I had the same issue with mine when I bought it(had new strips already installed) and was still a problem at two years later... When the stripes were installed I tried to align doors because they were hanging out at bottoms and only way that was going to happen was remove the weather stripping...