Project thread:1972 street/strip restomod

Discussion in 'Maverick/Comet Projects' started by FishnRace, Sep 29, 2013.

1. FishnRace

FishnRace Jamie

Vehicle:
    '72 2dr 351
    I've been hanging out here since 2005 when a was first deciding if I really wanted to build a Maverick vs. an early '63-65 falcon/fairlane, 67-68 cougar, or less so a mustang. The decision became obvious partly do to the camaraderie I noted on the site and the wealth of resources and knowledge at hand. Thanks to all for participating. So here is the story of another Maverick brought back to life. This thread is overdue as the car will be on the road soon. I will start writing updates with a brisk pace to get caught up as actual work began last fall.

INTRO: Need some requirements!!! Hmm let me see:
    1) This car will first and for most be driven to Maryland International Raceway on Friday nights for street car bracket racing. Maybe 5-15 times a year. We'll see. (Strip car)
    2) Budget! Money is an object so, budget solutions where I can but no shortcuts when it comes to reliability, safety, and basic function.
    3) Car must be able to do road trips. I don't know how much cruisin' I will actually do with this car, but this car will be capable of 1000+ roundtrips, reliably and safely. (Working street car shooting for minimum of 15 MPG)
    4) Style will be Mild restmoding. I don't want an old school raked Prostreet look and and not a total stock looking car. I'm looking for a bit of a road race capable stance and look.